CivicCourses
Contact us

Compared · checked 25 October 2026

What it takes to become a citizen

Not what a passport is worth, but what it asks of you: years of residence, a citizenship test, a language level, dual citizenship and the fee. 35 countries, every figure from an official source.

5 years or less6 to 8910 or more

Years of residence for a regular application as an adult. Spouses, refugees and others can have shorter routes; see each country. In Poland, Bulgaria and Latvia the years count from a permanent residence permit, which itself takes years to get.

35 countries

Australia

4years of residence

Citizenship test
Required
Language
Basic English (no CEFR level set)
Dual citizenship
Allowed
Fee
595 AUD
Details and sources

Residence. Four years living in Australia on a valid visa immediately before applying, including the last 12 months as a permanent resident, with no more than 12 months away in total and no more than 90 days away in the last 12 months.

Citizenship test. Australian citizenship test. 20 computer-based multiple-choice questions in English only, 45 minutes; pass mark 75% and all 5 questions on Australian values must be answered correctly. Generally required for applicants aged 18 to 59. Based on the booklet Australian Citizenship: Our Common Bond.. Since/from: 2007

Language. There is no separate language test: passing the citizenship test (75% and all values questions correct) also meets the English requirement.

Dual citizenship. Australia allows dual citizenship, but some other countries do not let their citizens keep their citizenship when they become Australian.

Fee. General eligibility (conferral), from 1 July 2026 (was AUD 575); concession fee AUD 85 for some pensioner concession card holders; indexed every 1 July. The Home Affairs 'permanent resident' page still shows AUD 285 in its Cost section, which conflicts with the 2026 fee regulation and form 1298i.

Decided by. Department of Home Affairs

Checked 25 October 2026.

Austria

10years of residence

Citizenship test
Required
Language
B1
Dual citizenship
Not allowed
Fee
Varies by region
Details and sources

Residence. Ten years of lawful, uninterrupted residence, at least five of them with settled status (Niederlassung).

Citizenship test. Staatsbürgerschaftsprüfung (citizenship test) on the democratic order and the history of Austria and the federal state. Written multiple-choice test of 18 questions (six per subject area, four answer options each); two hours; pass with half the points in each area or two thirds in total.

Language. German at B1 (e.g. ÖIF integration exam Module 2).

Dual citizenship. Applicants must in principle give up their previous nationality; retention is possible only in narrow exceptions.

Fee. Federal and state fees vary by state. Vienna example (2026): €163 application plus €1,236–1,678 on grant, plus €60 for an assurance decision and €6 per record.

Decided by. Citizenship department of the respective state government (Amt der Landesregierung); the test is held by the state government.

Checked 25 October 2026.

Belgium

5years of residence

Citizenship test
Planned
Language
A2
Dual citizenship
Allowed
Fee
1 030 EUR
Details and sources

Residence. Main adult route is a nationality declaration (art. 12bis), not naturalisation: five years of uninterrupted legal residence plus an unlimited residence right, with proof of integration, language and economic participation.

Citizenship test. Examen de nationalité / nationaliteitsexamen (proposed: citizenship test plus language test)

Language. A2 in Dutch, French or German today; the 2025–2029 federal coalition agreement plans to raise this to B1.

Dual citizenship. Belgian law has allowed dual nationality since 2007; the other country may not.

Fee. Registration fee raised from €150 to €1,000 by the programme law of 18 July 2025 and indexed to €1,030; a municipal tax may come on top.

Decided by. Declaration to the civil registrar of the municipality; the public prosecutor (procureur du Roi) reviews the file.

Checked 25 October 2026.

Bulgaria

5years with a permanent residence permit

Citizenship test
No test
Language
Exam, no CEFR level
Dual citizenship
Restricted
Fee
511.29 EUR
Details and sources

Residence. At least 5 years since being granted a permanent or long-term residence permit in Bulgaria, plus adulthood, income or occupation to support oneself, and no conviction for an intentional crime.

Citizenship test. No civics or knowledge exam in the law. When the application is submitted in person, an interview is held using a questionnaire approved by the Minister of Justice.

Language. The law requires command of Bulgarian, established under an ordinance of the Minister of Education and Science; no CEFR level is stated in the law. Proven by a certificate from the Ministry of Education and Science (after its language exam) or a notarised copy of a Bulgarian primary, secondary or higher education diploma.

Dual citizenship. Applicants must give up their previous citizenship, except spouses of Bulgarian citizens, EU/EEA/Swiss citizens and citizens of states with a reciprocity treaty.

Fee. State fee for a naturalisation application ('other persons'): 1000 BGN under Tariff No. 1 to the State Fees Act (item 55(c), amended by State Gazette No. 52/2025), stated by the Ministry of Justice as 1000 лв. / 511.29 EUR since Bulgaria adopted the euro on 1 January 2026.

Decided by. Ministry of Justice (Министерство на правосъдието, Directorate 'Bulgarian Citizenship') receives applications; the Citizenship Council (Съвет по гражданството) gives an opinion; the Minister of Justice proposes and the President issues a decree (указ). The language certificate is issued by the Ministry of Education and Science (МОН).

Checked 25 October 2026.

Canada

3years of residence

Citizenship test
Required
Language
CLB/NCLC 4 (speaking and listening)
Dual citizenship
Allowed
Fee
653 CAD
Details and sources

Residence. At least 1,095 days (3 years) physically present in Canada during the 5 years before applying, counted mainly as a permanent resident; days spent in Canada as a temporary resident or protected person before becoming a permanent resident count as half days, up to 365 days.

Citizenship test. Canadian citizenship test. 20 multiple-choice or true/false questions in English or French, 45 minutes; at least 15 of 20 correct (75%) to pass; 3 chances. Required for applicants aged 18 to 54 on the day they sign the application. Based on the official study guide Discover Canada.. Since/from: 2010-03

Language. Applicants aged 18 to 54 must show adequate knowledge of English or French, equivalent to Canadian Language Benchmarks (CLB) / Niveaux de compétence linguistique canadiens (NCLC) level 4 in speaking and listening.

Dual citizenship. Canadian law lets you be a citizen of Canada and another country, but some countries take away their citizenship if you become Canadian.

Fee. Adult (18 and over) total; includes the processing fee and the right of citizenship fee. IRCC fee list, date modified 2026-09-21.

Decided by. Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC)

Checked 25 October 2026.

Croatia

8years of residence

Citizenship test
Required
Language
Not confirmed
Dual citizenship
Not allowed
Fee
139.36 EUR
Details and sources

Residence. Eight years of uninterrupted registered residence in Croatia up to the application, and approved permanent residence (stalni boravak) status at the time of applying.

Citizenship test. Upitnik o poznavanju hrvatske kulture i društvenog uređenja (Questionnaire on knowledge of Croatian culture and social order). 15 questions drawn from a published bank of 110 (social order, history, culture, customs, arts, literature, sport, economy, tourism, geography); 60 minutes; filled in alone at the police administration/station when the application is submitted; at least 10 correct answers to pass; marked on the spot by the official. Applicants over 60 are exempt.

Language. Knowledge of Croatian and the Latin script is proven by a certificate of a passed exam from a university or another authorised institution, by Croatian school or university certificates, or by a foreign course certificate or transcript showing at least B1; the B1 level is stated only for the foreign-course route. Applicants over 60 are exempt.

Dual citizenship. Applicants must be released from their foreign citizenship or prove they will be; if the other state does not allow release, a declaration renouncing it suffices, and stateless people or those who lose it automatically are exempt.

Fee. Administrative fee for the decision on admission to Croatian citizenship (Tar. br. 9(2), Uredba o Tarifi upravnih pristojbi, NN 156/22, amended NN 130/25 without changing this item), paid when collecting the decision. Applications filed abroad pay a consular fee instead (185.81 EUR, Tar. br. 22).

Decided by. Ministry of the Interior (Ministarstvo unutarnjih poslova, MUP) decides; the application is filed in person, and the culture questionnaire taken, at the police administration or police station (policijska uprava/postaja) of the applicant's residence.

Checked 25 October 2026.

Cyprus

8years of residence

Citizenship test
Required
Language
B1
Dual citizenship
Allowed
Fee
500 EUR
Details and sources

Residence. 12 months of legal, continuous residence right before applying (absences up to 90 days allowed), plus at least 7 years of legal residence within the 10 years before that, so 8 years in total (Civil Registry Law 141(I)/2002, art. 111B, as amended in force since 19 Dec 2023).

Citizenship test. Εξέταση Πιστοποίησης της Επαρκούς Γνώσης Βασικών Στοιχείων της Σύγχρονης Πολιτικής και Κοινωνικής Πραγματικότητας της Κύπρου (certification exam on basic elements of Cyprus's contemporary political and social reality). Written exam in Greek run by the Examination Service of the Ministry of Education, Sport and Youth, in 2026 held on 7 March and 4 July; fee 20 EUR; a pass needs at least 60%. Topics include current affairs, history since 1960, customs, geography, the political system, economy and public holidays. The number of questions was not stated in the official pages found.. Since/from: 2023-12-19

Language. Greek at CEFR B1, proven by a certificate from a written and oral exam (Greek Language Centre certificate via the Ministry of Education's Examination Service, or the University of Cyprus School of Modern Greek). Exempt: holders of a Greek-language upper-secondary diploma or a Greek-taught degree.

Dual citizenship. Cyprus does not generally require renunciation; however, on the Minister's proposal the Council of Ministers may, in specific cases or categories, reject an application unless the applicant renounces other citizenships.

Fee. 500 EUR to submit form M127, plus two stamps of 8.54 EUR each; if approved, a further 500 EUR for the naturalisation certificate (1,000 EUR+ in total). Civics exam fee 20 EUR.

Decided by. The Minister of the Interior (Υπουργός Εσωτερικών) grants the naturalisation certificate; applications go through the Ministry of Interior's Civil Registry and Migration Department. The civics exam is run by the Examination Service (Υπηρεσία Εξετάσεων) of the Ministry of Education, Sport and Youth.

Checked 25 October 2026.

Czechia

5years of residence

Citizenship test
Required
Language
B1
Dual citizenship
Allowed
Fee
2 000 CZK
Details and sources

Residence. At least 5 years of continuous permanent residence (trvalý pobyt) up to the application (3 years for EU citizens, or permanent residence that together with the immediately preceding lawful stay totals 10 years), and the applicant must actually have been present in Czechia for at least half of that period.

Citizenship test. Zkouška z českých reálií (test of Czech realities: constitutional system and basic cultural, social, geographic and historical knowledge of the Czech Republic). Written test of 30 multiple-choice items (16 civics, 7 geography, 7 history and culture; 4 options each), 30 minutes, in Czech; all items come from a published bank of 300; pass mark 60 % (at least 18 of 30 points); unlimited retakes. Run by the Institute of Language and Preparatory Studies of Charles University (UJOP UK). Exempt: under 15 or over 65, 3 school years taught in Czech, or a disability that prevents learning.

Language. Czech at least at CEFR B1 (Decree 433/2013 Sb.), proven by the citizenship language exam (written and oral, 60 % pass mark) at UJOP UK or an equivalent exam (e.g. Czech maturita, state language exam, ALTE-certified B1+ Czech exam); same age, schooling and disability exemptions as the civics test.

Dual citizenship. Since the 2013 Citizenship Act took effect on 1 Jan 2014, Czech law no longer requires giving up another citizenship and accepts dual or multiple citizenship (the applicant's country of origin may have its own rules).

Fee. Administrative fee (správní poplatek) of 2000 CZK for accepting an adult's application (500 CZK for a minor or a recognised refugee; the authority may reduce it); the grant itself has been free for applications filed since 2 Aug 2021. Exam fees paid to UJOP UK: 5700 CZK for both parts (3700 CZK language only, 2000 CZK civics only).

Decided by. The Ministry of the Interior (Ministerstvo vnitra) decides; the application is filed in person at the regional authority (krajský úřad, in Prague the district offices Praha 1-22). The language and civics exams are run by UJOP UK (Ústav jazykové a odborné přípravy Univerzity Karlovy).

Checked 25 October 2026.

Denmark

9years of residence

Citizenship test
Required
Language
B2
Dual citizenship
Allowed
Fee
6 270 DKK
Details and sources

Residence. Nine years of uninterrupted residence, and the applicant must hold a permanent residence permit.

Citizenship test. Indfødsretsprøven (the Danish citizenship test). 45 written questions in Danish (35 on history, society and culture, 5 on current affairs, 5 on Danish values); pass with 36 correct, including 4 of the 5 values questions; 45 minutes.

Language. Prøve i Dansk 3 (Danish Test 3) as the main rule; the test relates to CEFR level B2.

Dual citizenship. Full access to multiple nationality since a 2014 amendment to the Nationality Act (in force 1 September 2015).

Fee. DKK 4,180 for applicants under 25 born in Denmark or arrived before age 8; no new fee for a second application, DKK 3,135 from the third.

Decided by. Ministry of Immigration and Integration (Udlændinge- og Integrationsministeriet); citizenship is granted by an act passed by the Folketing. The test is organised under Danish Education and Tests (danskogproever.dk).

Checked 25 October 2026.

Estonia

8years of residence

Citizenship test
Required
Language
B1
Dual citizenship
Not allowed
Fee
150 EUR
Details and sources

Residence. At least 8 years in Estonia on a residence permit or right of residence before applying, of which 5 years permanently; applicant must hold a long-term resident's permit or permanent right of residence and a registered address in Estonia.

Citizenship test. Eesti Vabariigi põhiseaduse ja kodakondsuse seaduse tundmise eksam (Exam on knowledge of the Constitution of the Republic of Estonia and the Citizenship Act). Test of 24 multiple-choice questions in Estonian, pass mark 18 correct; 45 minutes, written or electronic; the Constitution, the Citizenship Act and a dictionary may be used. Organised by Harno (Education and Youth Board), at least 12 times a year.

Language. Citizenship Act § 8 requires Estonian at least at level B1, assessed by an exam (Harno); exempt if basic, secondary or higher education was obtained in Estonian; health-based exemptions decided by an expert committee.

Dual citizenship. An Estonian citizen may not hold another citizenship; applicants must prove release from their previous citizenship (exception: holders of international protection who cannot renounce).

Fee. State fee for reviewing an application for Estonian citizenship (Riigilõivuseadus § 270, in force since 2025-01-01); not refunded if the application is not reviewed. Under-18s are exempt.

Decided by. The Government of the Republic (Vabariigi Valitsus) decides; applications are filed with the Police and Border Guard Board (Politsei- ja Piirivalveamet, PPA); language and Constitution/Citizenship Act exams are organised by the Education and Youth Board (Haridus- ja Noorteamet, Harno).

Checked 25 October 2026.

Finland

8years of residence

Citizenship test
From 1 March 2027
Language
YKI level 3 (CEFR B1) in Finnish or Swedish
Dual citizenship
Allowed
Fee
550 EUR
We help with this: the Finnish course
Details and sources

Residence. Your actual residence and home must have been in Finland for the last eight years when the application is decided (since 1 October 2024), with at most 365 days abroad in total and at most 90 days in the year before the decision.

Citizenship test. Kansalaisuuskoe / medborgarskapsprov (Finnish citizenship test). New legal requirement from 1 January 2027, applied by the Finnish Immigration Service to applications filed on or after 1 March 2027 by applicants aged 18 to 64. Multiple-choice, taken in Finnish or Swedish, electronically where possible; passing requires a majority of correct answers. Number of questions, test time, exact pass mark and test fee are not published.. Since/from: 2027-03-01

Language. Satisfactory oral and written skills in Finnish or Swedish (or Finnish/Finland-Swedish sign language), usually shown with the National Certificate of Language Proficiency (YKI) at level 3, which corresponds to CEFR B1.

Dual citizenship. Finland has allowed multiple citizenship since 1 June 2003; foreigners who become Finnish citizens do not have to give up their current citizenship, but the other country may not allow it.

Fee. Electronic application in 2026 (EUR 650 on paper). The 2026 fee decree is valid until the end of 2026; the 2027 fee and the citizenship test fee are not published.

Decided by. Finnish Immigration Service (Maahanmuuttovirasto, Migri)

Checked 25 October 2026.

France

5years of residence

Citizenship test
Required
Language
B2
Dual citizenship
Allowed
Fee
255 EUR
Details and sources

Residence. Five years of residence in France for naturalisation by decree (shorter or no period in listed exceptions).

Citizenship test. Examen civique (civic exam). 40 multiple-choice questions in French (knowledge and situational questions); pass with 32 correct; up to 45 minutes, taken digitally.. Since/from: 2026-01-01

Language. French at B2 or above, spoken and written.

Dual citizenship. French law does not require a new citizen to renounce their original nationality.

Fee. Paid as a timbre fiscal (€127.50 in French Guiana).

Decided by. Ministry of the Interior (minister responsible for naturalisations), via the préfecture; the civic exam is taken at centres approved by CCI Paris Île-de-France or France Éducation international.

Checked 25 October 2026.

Germany

5years of residence

Citizenship test
Required
Language
B1
Dual citizenship
Allowed
Fee
255 EUR
Details and sources

Residence. Five years of lawful habitual residence (cut from eight in June 2024); the three-year fast track was abolished with effect from 30 October 2025.

Citizenship test. Einbürgerungstest (naturalisation test). 33 multiple-choice questions in German (30 general, 3 on the applicant’s federal state); 60 minutes; pass with 17 correct.

Language. German at B1 as the rule.

Dual citizenship. Multiple nationality has been generally accepted since the reform of 27 June 2024; previous citizenship no longer has to be given up.

Fee. Fee set in § 38 StAG; the naturalisation test is paid separately.

Decided by. Naturalisation authorities (Einbürgerungsbehörden) of the federal states; the test is run by the Federal Office for Migration and Refugees (BAMF).

Checked 25 October 2026.

Greece

7years of residence

Citizenship test
Required
Language
B1
Dual citizenship
Not confirmed
Fee
550 EUR
Details and sources

Residence. 7 years of continuous legal and permanent residence before applying, on a qualifying permit (e.g. long-term resident, 10-year, indefinite, second-generation or investor permit); holders of other permits need 12 years (Code of Greek Citizenship, Law 3284/2004, art. 5).

Citizenship test. Πιστοποιητικό Επάρκειας Γνώσεων για Πολιτογράφηση – Π.Ε.Γ.Π. (Certificate of Sufficient Knowledge for Naturalisation). Written exam (oral for over-62s and some disabled applicants) held twice a year in school buildings. Knowledge part: 20 questions drawn from a public bank of 300 (geography, history, culture, institutions). Pass needs 70/100 overall, with at least 40/60 in Greek and 20/40 in the knowledge part. Exam fee 150 EUR; current rules: decision 21536/2026 (FEK B' 2319/24.04.2026).

Language. Greek at a level equivalent to B1 (oral and written comprehension and production), tested within the PEGP exam rather than by a separate certificate. Exempt: those covered by art. 7(4) of the Code, e.g. people who completed Greek schooling or a Greek-language university degree.

Dual citizenship. The Code sets no requirement for naturalising foreigners to renounce their nationality, and Greeks who take another nationality lose Greek nationality only with ministerial permission; no explicit official statement on dual citizenship was found.

Fee. 550 EUR e-paravolo for the naturalisation application (200 EUR to re-submit; 100 EUR for EU citizens, recognised refugees and stateless persons), plus the 150 EUR PEGP exam fee.

Decided by. Ministry of Interior, General Secretariat for Citizenship (Γενική Γραμματεία Ιθαγένειας): applications are handled by the Regional Citizenship Directorates and the decision is signed by the Head of the General Directorate of Citizenship (the Minister decides in public-order/national-security cases). The PEGP exam is organised by the same General Secretariat.

Checked 25 October 2026.

Hungary

8years of residence

Citizenship test
Required
Language
Required, no CEFR level
Dual citizenship
Allowed
Fee
No fee
Details and sources

Residence. Eight years of continuous residence in Hungary immediately before the application, plus a clean criminal record, secured livelihood and housing, and no threat to public or national security (Act LV of 1993, s. 4(1)).

Citizenship test. Alkotmányos alapismeretek vizsga (Exam in basic constitutional knowledge). Written and oral exam in Hungarian, taken on the same day before a three-member examination board; both parts must be passed (graded 'megfelelt'/'nem felelt meg'). Organised by Budapest Főváros Kormányhivatala (Budapest Capital Government Office), max 25 candidates per exam day. The decree does not publish a number of questions or a pass mark. Exempt: people aged 60+ at application, graduates of Hungarian-language schools or universities, people with limited legal capacity, and those permanently unable to sit it for health reasons. A failed part can be retaken.

Language. No separate language test and no CEFR level in the law: Hungarian is tested implicitly because the constitutional exam (written and oral) must be passed in Hungarian; applicants exempt from the exam must still prove knowledge of Hungarian.

Dual citizenship. No renunciation is required; since Act LXIV of 2025, Hungarian citizenship of a person who also holds a non-EEA (third-country) citizenship can be suspended for up to ten years if they are a threat to public order or national security.

Fee. The naturalisation procedure itself is exempt from fees (Act XCIII of 1990, Annex 2). The mandatory constitutional exam costs 50% of the monthly minimum wage: 161,400 HUF from 1 January 2026 (minimum wage 322,800 HUF, Govt Decree 426/2025); a retake of one failed part costs 50% of the exam fee. The 161,400 HUF figure is calculated from the two official texts; the authority's published sheet still shows the 2025 amount (145,400 HUF).

Decided by. The President of the Republic (köztársasági elnök) decides on the proposal of the minister responsible for citizenship; applications are handled and the constitutional exam is organised by Budapest Főváros Kormányhivatala (Budapest Capital Government Office), the designated citizenship authority.

Checked 25 October 2026.

Iceland

7years of residence

Citizenship test
No test
Language
Not confirmed
Dual citizenship
Allowed
Fee
60 000 ISK
Details and sources

Residence. Seven years of legal domicile and continuous residence; stays abroad of more than 90 days in a 12-month period break continuity.

Citizenship test. The official list of conditions includes an Icelandic language test but no civics test.

Language. An Icelandic language test (speaking, listening, writing, reading) is required; the regulation ties it to the 240-hour basic Icelandic course and does not state a CEFR level. Tests were paused in 2026 while a new provider is appointed.

Dual citizenship. Applicants are not required to renounce their previous citizenship (dual citizenship possible since 1 July 2003).

Fee. One fee covers children included in the application; the language test is paid separately.

Decided by. Directorate of Immigration (Útlendingastofnun); the language test is arranged for the Ministry of Justice.

Checked 25 October 2026.

Ireland

5years of residence

Citizenship test
Planned
Language
No formal requirement
Dual citizenship
Allowed
Fee
1 125 EUR
Details and sources

Residence. Five years of reckonable residence within the last nine, including one full year of continuous residence before applying; a bill approved for drafting in September 2026 would raise this to eight years.

Citizenship test. Irish civics, society and politics test (proposed; no official name yet). Since/from: Planned: General Scheme of the Irish Nationality and Citizenship (Amendment) Bill 2026, approved for priority drafting on 9 September 2026; not yet law, no start date.

Language. No language requirement today; the same bill proposes language tests in English, Irish or Irish Sign Language.

Dual citizenship. Irish law does not require applicants to give up another citizenship.

Fee. €175 application fee plus €950 certification fee for a standard adult application (lower or zero for some groups).

Decided by. Minister for Justice, Home Affairs and Migration, through Immigration Service Delivery (ISD).

Checked 25 October 2026.

Italy

10years of residence

Citizenship test
No test
Language
B1
Dual citizenship
Allowed
Fee
250 EUR
Details and sources

Residence. Ten years of legal residence for non-EU nationals (Law 91/1992 art. 9(1)(f)); the Ministry of the Interior requires the registered residence to be continuous and uninterrupted, plus sufficient stable income over the three years before the application and up to the oath; EU citizens need 4 years, stateless persons and refugees 5.

Citizenship test. Neither Law 91/1992 (as in force on 2026-10-25) nor the Ministry of the Interior's application requirements provide for a civics or knowledge test; the only integration requirement is Italian at B1. A November 2025 Lega bill proposing an integration test has not been adopted.

Language. Italian at least B1 (CEFR), proven with a school/university qualification from a recognised Italian institution or a certificate from a recognised certifying body (Università per Stranieri di Perugia, Università per Stranieri di Siena, Roma Tre, Società Dante Alighieri). Not required of holders of an EU long-term residence permit or those who signed the integration agreement; since Constitutional Court judgment 25/2025 (March 2025) applicants with serious learning limitations due to age, illness or disability, certified by a public health body, are exempt.

Dual citizenship. Law 91/1992 contains no renunciation requirement for naturalising applicants, and art. 11 lets a person holding a foreign citizenship keep Italian citizenship.

Fee. 250 EUR contribution (contributo, Law 91/1992 art. 9-bis(2), text in force from 1 January 2026 with the amount unchanged) plus a 16 EUR revenue stamp (marca da bollo); both paid via pagoPA on the Ministry's online portal.

Decided by. Citizenship is granted by decree of the President of the Republic (Presidente della Repubblica) on the proposal of the Minister of the Interior (Ministro dell'interno), after hearing the Council of State; applications are filed online with and processed by the local Prefecture (Prefettura - Ufficio Territoriale del Governo). The oath is sworn at the municipality within 6 months. No civics test; language certificates are issued by recognised certifying bodies.

Checked 25 October 2026.

Latvia

5years with a permanent residence permit

Citizenship test
Required
Language
Exam, no CEFR level
Dual citizenship
Restricted
Fee
28.46 EUR
Details and sources

Residence. Permanent residence in Latvia for at least the last 5 years (one year's total break allowed, not in the final year); for foreign citizens and stateless persons the 5 years count from receipt of a permanent residence permit or permanent residence certificate.

Citizenship test. Latvijas Republikas Satversmes pamatnoteikumu, valsts himnas teksta, Latvijas vēstures un kultūras pamatu zināšanas pārbaude (Test of knowledge of the basic principles of the Constitution, the text of the national anthem, and the basics of Latvian history and culture). Run by a PMLP commission, oral or written; the written test has 18 questions (10 on history and culture, 8 on the Satversme) and the anthem text must be written or recited; each part is graded separately and all parts must be passed; up to 3 attempts per application.

Language. The Citizenship Law describes the required Latvian proficiency in words (Art. 20) and states no CEFR level; it is tested by PMLP (written and oral parts: listening, reading, writing, speaking). Exempt: people with Latvian-language basic education (more than half of the programme) and certain disabilities; the writing part does not apply from age 65.

Dual citizenship. A naturalising person must renounce their previous citizenship, unless they are a citizen of an EU/EFTA or NATO state, Australia, Brazil, New Zealand or a state with a dual-citizenship treaty with Latvia.

Fee. State fee (valsts nodeva) for submitting a naturalisation application: 28.46 EUR standard, 4.27 EUR reduced (e.g. low-income persons, registered unemployed, pensioners, large families); certain groups exempt. Not refunded if naturalisation is refused.

Decided by. The Cabinet of Ministers (Ministru kabinets) decides on admission to citizenship; the Office of Citizenship and Migration Affairs (Pilsonības un migrācijas lietu pārvalde, PMLP) receives and examines applications and runs the language and knowledge tests.

Checked 25 October 2026.

Lithuania

10years of residence

Citizenship test
Required
Language
A2
Dual citizenship
Not allowed
Fee
Not confirmed
Details and sources

Residence. Lawful permanent residence in Lithuania for the last 10 years, plus a right of permanent residence both when applying and when the decision is taken.

Citizenship test. Lietuvos Respublikos Konstitucijos pagrindų egzaminas (Exam on the fundamentals of the Constitution of the Republic of Lithuania). Taken electronically at a municipal base school; registration and payment via migracija.lt; certificates issued by NŠA. The published exam programme (2004, amended 2009) describes a 20-question multiple-choice test (3 options each) passed with 14 correct. Not required from age 65, for persons with 0–55% work capacity and certain other groups.

Language. State language (Lithuanian) exam at state language proficiency category I; Government rules equate passing the citizenship language exam with category I and at least level A2. Test plus interview. Not required from age 65, for persons with 0–55% work capacity and certain other groups.

Dual citizenship. Applicants must be stateless, lose their former citizenship automatically under that state's law, or declare in writing that they will renounce it once granted Lithuanian citizenship (recognised refugees are exempt).

Fee. State fee (valstybės rinkliava) for examining a naturalisation application: 120 EUR per the Migration Department fee list (last archived 2025-06-14, page dated 2023-10-09). Exam fees on top: 57 EUR (state language) and 21 EUR (Constitution).

Decided by. The President of the Republic grants citizenship by decree; applications go to the President via the government-authorised institution (the Migration Department, Migracijos departamentas prie VRM) and are considered by the Citizenship Affairs Commission; the exams are run by the National Agency for Education (Nacionalinė švietimo agentūra, NŠA) at base schools.

Checked 25 October 2026.

Luxembourg

5years of residence

Citizenship test
Required
Language
A2
Dual citizenship
Allowed
Fee
No fee
Details and sources

Residence. At least five years of legal residence, with the final year before the application uninterrupted.

Citizenship test. ‘Vivre ensemble au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg’ (Living together in Luxembourg) course or test. Applicants either attend the 24-hour course or pass the test without attending; test papers may contain multiple- or dual-choice questions.

Language. Luxembourgish test (Sproochentest): speaking at A2 and listening at B1.

Dual citizenship. Luxembourg citizenship can be combined with other nationalities, if the other country permits it.

Fee. The naturalisation procedure is free; the Luxembourgish language test costs EUR 75 (refundable under conditions); the Vivre ensemble course/test is free.

Decided by. Ministry of Justice (Nationality Office); application filed with the civil registrar of the municipality. The language test is run by INLL.

Checked 25 October 2026.

Malta

5years of residence

Citizenship test
No test
Language
Required, no CEFR level
Dual citizenship
Allowed
Fee
450 EUR
Details and sources

Residence. Statutory minimum: residence in Malta throughout the 12 months before applying plus at least 4 years in aggregate during the 6 years before that, together with good character and suitability; the grant is at the Minister's discretion (residence-based naturalisation, Cap. 188 art. 10(1)).

Citizenship test. Neither the Maltese Citizenship Act nor the Community Malta Agency's naturalisation page (updated 24/02/2026) provides for a civics or knowledge test; requirements are residence, good character, adequate Maltese or English, and being 'a suitable citizen of Malta', with two sponsors and an oath of allegiance.

Language. The law requires 'an adequate knowledge of the Maltese or the English language' but states no CEFR level, and the official pages describe no formal language test or certificate; how it is assessed is not published. Not required for adults lacking full capacity applying with court authorisation.

Dual citizenship. Multiple citizenship has been lawful since 10 February 2000 (Cap. 188 art. 7); foreigners who naturalise may keep their foreign citizenship.

Fee. 450 EUR application fee (Form E), plus 50 EUR on collection of the certificate if granted, and 10 EUR if the oath of allegiance is sworn at the Agency's offices (Community Malta Agency page, updated 24/02/2026; same amounts in the Third Schedule of the Citizenship Regulations, S.L. 188.01).

Decided by. The Minister responsible for citizenship matters decides at his discretion; applications are administered and due diligence carried out by the Community Malta Agency (Aġenzija Komunità Malta). No civics test.

Checked 25 October 2026.

Netherlands

5years of residence

Citizenship test
Required
Language
A2
Dual citizenship
Restricted
Fee
1 139 EUR
Details and sources

Residence. Five years of uninterrupted residence with a valid permit; the government proposed (September 2025) extending this to 10 years, not law as of the check date.

Citizenship test. Kennis van de Nederlandse Maatschappij (KNM, Knowledge of Dutch Society), part of the inburgeringsexamen (civic integration exam)

Language. Civic integration exam at language level A2 (reading, listening, writing, speaking), taken at DUO.

Dual citizenship. Adults must as a rule renounce their other nationality after naturalisation, with exceptions set out by the IND.

Fee. €1,454 for a joint application with a partner; fees change every 1 January.

Decided by. Immigration and Naturalisation Service (IND), application lodged at the municipality; naturalisation by royal decree. The exam is run by DUO.

Checked 25 October 2026.

New Zealand

5years of residence

Citizenship test
Planned
Language
Basic conversation in English (no CEFR level set)
Dual citizenship
Allowed
Fee
641 NZD
Details and sources

Residence. Physically present in New Zealand as a resident for at least 1,350 days in the 5 years before applying, including at least 240 days in each 12-month period.

Citizenship test. New Zealand citizenship test. Planned from late 2027 for most adult citizenship-by-grant applicants: in person, 20 multiple-choice questions in English, at least 15 correct (75%) to pass; up to 3 attempts, then a wait of at least 30 working days before 3 more. Applicants under 16 and over 65 will not have to sit it. Today applicants sign a declaration instead. Exact start date and test fee not yet published.. Since/from: late 2027 (planned)

Language. Applicants whose first language is not English must include proof they can speak English; a case officer may call them to an interview.

Dual citizenship. New Zealand allows dual and multiple citizenship, but you may lose your other citizenship if that country does not allow it.

Fee. Citizenship by grant, adult (aged 16 and over), from 28 August 2026. A separate fee for the planned test is likely.

Decided by. Department of Internal Affairs (Te Tari Taiwhenua)

Checked 25 October 2026.

Norway

8years of residence

Citizenship test
Required
Language
B1
Dual citizenship
Allowed
Fee
6 500 NOK
Details and sources

Residence. Eight years of residence in total within the last eleven years, on residence permits valid for at least one year.

Citizenship test. Statsborgerprøven (the Norwegian citizenship test). 36 multiple-choice questions in Norwegian (Bokmål or Nynorsk), 32 of them scored; pass with 24 correct; up to 60 minutes; language level A2. Required for applicants aged 18–67.

Language. Oral Norwegian at level B1 for applicants aged 18–67.

Dual citizenship. Applicants do not need to tell UDI that they want to keep their other citizenship; whether they can keep it depends on the other country.

Fee. UDI processing fee for adults; the test is paid separately.

Decided by. Norwegian Directorate of Immigration (UDI); documents are handed in to the police. The test is run by HK-dir.

Checked 25 October 2026.

Poland

3years with a permanent residence permit

Citizenship test
No test
Language
B1
Dual citizenship
Allowed
Fee
1 000 PLN
Details and sources

Residence. Recognition as a Polish citizen by the voivode (uznanie za obywatela polskiego, Art. 30(1)(1) of the 2009 Citizenship Act): at least 3 years of continuous residence on a permanent residence permit, EU long-term resident permit or right of permanent residence, plus a stable and regular income and a legal title to housing; separately, the President may grant citizenship (nadanie, Art. 18) at his discretion with no fixed residence requirement.

Citizenship test. No knowledge test in force on 2026-10-25. Pending or failed proposals: the Interior Ministry (MSWiA) announced in October 2025 a plan for a citizenship test held twice a year and an 8-year residence requirement, but no government bill appears in the Sejm's legislative record; the President's bill (Sejm print 1759, 3 to 10 years of residence) has been in first reading in committee since 4 Nov 2025; an MPs' bill with 10 years, C1 Polish and a state civic exam (print 1888) was rejected at first reading on 9 Jan 2026; another MPs' bill (print 1273, 10 years) is in committee.

Language. Polish at level B1 or higher, proven by an official certificate under Art. 11a of the Polish Language Act, or by a school certificate from a school in Poland or a Polish-language school abroad (a post-secondary school certificate does not count); minors recognised under Art. 30(1)(4)-(5) are exempt.

Dual citizenship. The Citizenship Act does not require applicants to give up their previous citizenship; Poland treats a dual citizen as having the same rights and duties as a sole Polish citizen, but the person cannot rely on the other citizenship before Polish authorities.

Fee. Stamp duty (opłata skarbowa) of 1000 PLN for the voivode's decision on recognition, in force since 1 Aug 2025 (Act of 25 June 2025, Dz.U. 2025 poz. 921; previously 219 PLN); decisions for minors under Art. 30(1)(4)-(5) are exempt. The presidential-grant route costs 1669 PLN for the voivode's acceptance of the application. Fees for the B1 language certificate exam are separate and were not checked.

Decided by. Recognition: the voivode (wojewoda) of the applicant's place of residence decides, with appeal to the Minister of the Interior and Administration (MSWiA); presidential grant: the President of the Republic (Prezydent RP), application filed via the voivode or a consul. No civics test exists.

Checked 25 October 2026.

Portugal

10years of residence

Citizenship test
Not confirmed
Language
A2
Dual citizenship
Allowed
Fee
250 EUR
Details and sources

Residence. 10 years of legal residence for nationals of non-Portuguese-speaking, non-EU countries (7 years for CPLP and EU nationals) under Lei 37/81 as amended by Lei Orgânica 1/2026, in force since 19 May 2026; periods may be added up if they fall within a 12-year window. Applications pending on 19 May 2026 are decided under the previous wording of the law.

Citizenship test. No official test name yet. Lei 37/81 art. 6(1)(c)-(d) requires proof 'através de teste ou de certificado' of Portuguese language and culture, history and national symbols, plus knowledge of fundamental rights and duties and the political organisation of the State. The requirement entered into force with Lei Orgânica 1/2026 on 19 May 2026, but the law gave the Government 90 days to amend the Regulamento da Nacionalidade (DL 237-A/2006), which defines how proof is given. No amended Regulamento was found as of 2026-10-25 (the consolidated text at pgdlisboa.pt still shows DL 41/2023 as the latest amendment), so format, pass mark, organiser and fee are not yet published.. Since/from: 2026-05-19

Language. Sufficient knowledge of Portuguese, set at CEFR A2 (Portaria 176/2014); proven under Regulamento art. 25, e.g. by the official Portuguese language test, a recognised PLE certificate or an A2 Português Língua de Acolhimento certificate. Nationals of Portuguese-speaking countries are presumed to meet the language part unless clearly lacking.

Dual citizenship. Portugal does not require naturalised citizens to give up their previous nationality; Portuguese nationality is lost only by a voluntary declaration from a person who also holds another nationality.

Fee. 250 EUR application fee for an adult (Regulamento Emolumentar dos Registos e Notariado, item 2.2.1). No fee for the new culture/civics test has been set yet.

Decided by. The Minister of Justice (Ministro da Justiça) decides; applications are processed by the Institute of Registries and Notary (IRN, Conservatória dos Registos Centrais). The body that will run the new culture/civics test has not yet been designated.

Checked 25 October 2026.

Romania

8years of residence

Citizenship test
Required
Language
Tested in the interview
Dual citizenship
Allowed
Fee
Not confirmed
Details and sources

Residence. At least 8 years of legal residence, and at the date of application the applicant must hold a long-term residence right or a permanent residence right (rule since Law 14/2025, in force 15 March 2025); a year with more than 6 months spent abroad does not count.

Citizenship test. Interviul pentru verificarea condițiilor prevăzute la art. 8 alin. (1) lit. f) și g) (citizenship interview testing Romanian language, history, geography, culture and civilisation, the Constitution and the national anthem). Held before the Citizenship Commission of the ANC: dictation of an article of the Constitution, reading an unseen Romanian text, and oral answers to 12 randomly drawn questions (3 each from the Constitution, history, geography, culture and civilisation; the question bank is published by the ANC), plus possible follow-up questions. Each commission member grades 1–10; a pass needs an average of at least 5. Conducted in Romanian and recorded on video. The procedure is set by ANC Order 84/2025 (in force 22 April 2025).

Language. The law requires knowledge of Romanian 'sufficient to integrate into social life' and states no CEFR level; it is tested in the same interview (dictation, reading, oral answers). A B1 certificate is required only for restoration/descent routes (art. 10 and 11), not for ordinary naturalisation.

Dual citizenship. Renouncing the previous citizenship is not among the conditions for naturalisation listed in art. 8 of Law 21/1991.

Fee. No state fee for the application itself: since Law 14/2025 only applications to renounce Romanian citizenship are subject to a fee. However, the cost of the Romanian citizenship card must be paid in advance and proof of payment attached to the application; the amount (reported as 90 lei by the ANC in 2024) could not be confirmed on an official page.

Decided by. Autoritatea Națională pentru Cetățenie (ANC, National Citizenship Authority, Ministry of Justice): its Comisia pentru cetățenie (Citizenship Commission) examines the file and holds the interview; the ANC President grants citizenship by order, which takes effect when the oath of allegiance is taken.

Checked 25 October 2026.

Slovakia

8years of residence

Citizenship test
Required
Language
Tested in the interview
Dual citizenship
Not confirmed
Fee
1 000 EUR
Details and sources

Residence. At least 8 years of continuous permanent residence (trvalý pobyt) in Slovakia immediately before the application (§ 7(1)(a) of Act 40/1993), taking into account whether the applicant was actually present, plus a clean record and compliance with tax, insurance and residence obligations.

Citizenship test. Overovanie ovládania slovenského jazyka a všeobecných znalostí o Slovenskej republike (verification of Slovak language and general knowledge of Slovakia). Combined oral and written check before a three-member commission at the regional district office (okresný úrad v sídle kraja), embassy or consulate, done when the applicant fills in the questionnaire: an interview with personal questions and general questions mainly on Slovak history, geography and socio-political development, reading aloud a press article of at least 500 words, and writing its content within 30 minutes; the commission decides by majority and records minutes. No published question bank or numeric pass mark. Exempt: under 14, over 65, current or former Czech citizens, holders of a Slovak Living Abroad certificate, or a Slovak maturita or state language exam within the last 10 years.

Language. The law requires command of Slovak 'slovom aj písmom' (spoken and written) without stating a CEFR level; it is checked by the same commission interview, reading and writing task as the general knowledge (same exemptions).

Dual citizenship. The naturalisation conditions in § 7 of Act 40/1993 do not include renouncing a previous citizenship; Slovakia's restrictions on dual citizenship apply to Slovak citizens who take another citizenship (eased in 2022 for those with 5 years' residence abroad).

Fee. Administrative fee (item 20a, Act 145/1995 on administrative fees) of 1000 EUR for an adult, charged only after citizenship is granted; 140 EUR for a child under 15, 210 EUR aged 15-18; exempt: recognised refugees, people over 65, disability pensioners and people with severe disabilities.

Decided by. The Ministry of the Interior of the Slovak Republic (Ministerstvo vnútra SR) grants citizenship; the application is filed in person at the district office in the regional capital (okresný úrad v sídle kraja) or a Slovak embassy or consulate, whose three-member commission checks language and general knowledge.

Checked 25 October 2026.

Slovenia

10years of residence

Citizenship test
No test
Language
A2
Dual citizenship
Restricted
Fee
181.20 EUR
Details and sources

Residence. Ten years of actual residence in Slovenia, the last five uninterrupted before applying, with a regularised foreigner status (temporary or permanent residence permit, or EU registration certificate); granted at the authority's discretion if in the national interest.

Citizenship test. No civics or knowledge-of-society test; the law requires only the Slovenian language exam and an oath of respect for the free democratic constitutional order.

Language. Certificate of a passed Slovenian exam at basic level (osnovna raven), written and oral, before an expert commission appointed by the Government; the government states that this basic level is CEFR A2. Deemed met by completed primary or secondary school or a degree in Slovenia, people over 60 who have lived 15 years in Slovenia, and others; illiterate applicants can pass an oral-only basic exam.

Dual citizenship. Applicants must obtain release from their current citizenship (or prove they will get it), except EU citizens where reciprocity exists, stateless people, and cases where release is impossible or would lose automatically.

Fee. 181.20 EUR administrative fee for the decision on naturalisation (Zakon o upravnih taksah, Tarifna številka 12). The tariff also has a general 4.50 EUR fee for applications (Tarifna številka 1); whether it is charged on top was not confirmed. The Slovenian language exam fee is charged separately by the exam provider (not verified).

Decided by. The administrative unit (upravna enota) where the applicant has registered residence decides on ordinary naturalisation; the Ministry of the Interior and Public Administration (Ministrstvo za notranje zadeve in javno upravo) is responsible for the field. The language exam is taken before an expert commission appointed by the Government (Vlada Republike Slovenije).

Checked 25 October 2026.

Spain

10years of residence

Citizenship test
Required
Language
A2
Dual citizenship
Restricted
Fee
104.05 EUR
Details and sources

Residence. Ten years of legal, continuous residence immediately before the application, plus proof of good civic conduct and sufficient integration (Código Civil art. 22); shorter periods apply to refugees (5), nationals of Ibero-American countries, Andorra, the Philippines, Equatorial Guinea and Portugal and Sephardic Jews (2), and spouses and some others (1).

Citizenship test. Prueba CCSE (Conocimientos Constitucionales y Socioculturales de España: Constitutional and Sociocultural Knowledge of Spain). Designed and administered by the Instituto Cervantes; all questions are closed-answer and of equal value, 60% on the Constitution and Spain's administrative and territorial organisation and 40% on culture, history and society (Real Decreto 1004/2015 art. 6.3); in Spanish, in person at recognised exam centres or remotely where the Cervantes allows. Number of questions and pass mark are not stated in the regulation, and the Cervantes exam portal (JavaScript-only) could not be read to confirm them. Minors and persons with judicially modified capacity are exempt.

Language. Proven by passing a DELE exam (Diploma de Español como Lengua Extranjera) at level A2 or higher with the Instituto Cervantes; official A2+ certificates from Spanish state language schools are also accepted. Exempt: nationals of countries where Spanish is an official language (list in RD 1004/2015 art. 6.5), holders of an earlier DELE A2+, minors and persons with judicially modified capacity.

Dual citizenship. Applicants must declare that they renounce their previous nationality, except nationals of Ibero-American countries, Andorra, the Philippines, Equatorial Guinea and Portugal and Sephardic Jews of Spanish origin (Código Civil art. 23 b).

Fee. Application fee (tasa, form 790 code 026) of 104.05 EUR per the Ministry of Justice notice (amount in force since 1 January 2022; statutory base 100 EUR in Ley 19/2015, updated since; no later change found). The fee does not include the Instituto Cervantes exam prices for DELE and CCSE, which are set separately by the Cervantes (not verified here).

Decided by. The Minister of Justice (Ministro de Justicia) grants or refuses nationality; the file is processed by the Directorate-General for Legal Certainty and Public Faith (Dirección General de Seguridad Jurídica y Fe Pública, named DGRN in the 2015 regulation). The DELE and CCSE exams are designed and run by the Instituto Cervantes.

Checked 25 October 2026.

Sweden

8years of residence

Citizenship test
Required
Language
CEFR B1 (reading and listening) and A2 (speaking and writing)
Dual citizenship
Allowed
Fee
2 900 SEK
We help with this: the Swedish course
Details and sources

Residence. Eight years of continuous residence (hemvist) in Sweden under the rules in force since 6 June 2026, usually counted from arrival if you came with a permanent or other residence-granting permit.

Citizenship test. Medborgarskapsprovet i samhällskunskap (citizenship test in civics). Required since 6 June 2026 for applicants aged 16 to 66, unless an approved school grade counts instead. Run by the Swedish Council for Higher Education (UHR): Swedish only, on paper, multiple-choice with one correct answer. The number of questions and test time for the next test (planned April–May 2027) are not published. The pass mark for the first test (15 August 2026) was 28 of 40 points and applied to that test only.. Since/from: 2026-06-06

Language. Swedish at B1 for reading and listening and A2 for speaking and writing. Until a national language test exists (law in force 1 October 2027 at the latest), it is shown with school grades, the highest SFI course, Tisus or another test at a functional level such as Swedex. From 31 December 2026 it is no longer possible to take a Swedex test.

Dual citizenship. Sweden allows dual and multiple citizenship; you keep your previous citizenship if the other country's law allows it.

Fee. Application fee for adults, not refunded if refused. The civics test costs another SEK 2,000 (paid to UHR) for tests held from 2027; the August 2026 test was free.

Decided by. Swedish Migration Agency (Migrationsverket); the test is run by the Swedish Council for Higher Education (Universitets- och högskolerådet, UHR)

Checked 25 October 2026.

Switzerland

10years of residence

Citizenship test
Required
Language
B1
Dual citizenship
Allowed
Fee
Varies by region
Details and sources

Residence. Ten years of residence (three of them in the five years before applying) and a C permit; cantons add 2–5 years in the canton and commune.

Citizenship test. Cantonal naturalisation test (Einbürgerungstest / test de naturalisation), varies by canton. Federal law requires basic knowledge of Swiss geography, history, politics and society; whether this is checked by a written or oral test is up to each canton, so format and pass mark vary.

Language. Federal minimum: a national language at B1 spoken and A2 written; cantons may require more.

Dual citizenship. Switzerland recognises dual nationality; the country of origin must also permit it.

Fee. SEM charges CHF 100 for an adult (CHF 150 for spouses applying jointly); cantonal and communal fees come on top and are set by cantonal law (ch.ch cites averages of CHF 500–1,000 per person for the commune and up to CHF 2,000 for the canton).

Decided by. Commune and canton (cantonal naturalisation authority decides) plus the State Secretariat for Migration (SEM), which issues the federal naturalisation licence.

Checked 25 October 2026.

United Kingdom

5years of residence

Citizenship test
Required
Language
B1
Dual citizenship
Allowed
Fee
1 839 GBP
Details and sources

Residence. Five years of residence, plus 12 months holding indefinite leave to remain or settled status (in practice usually six years in total).

Citizenship test. Life in the UK Test. 24 questions in 45 minutes based on the official handbook; pass mark 75%.

Language. English (or Welsh or Scottish Gaelic) at B1 or above, or a degree taught or researched in English.

Dual citizenship. Dual nationality is allowed under UK law; the other country may not allow it.

Fee. £1,709 application fee plus £130 citizenship ceremony fee; the Life in the UK Test costs £50 extra.

Decided by. Home Office (UK Visas and Immigration).

Checked 25 October 2026.

United States

5years of residence

Citizenship test
Required
Language
Basic English (no CEFR level set)
Dual citizenship
Allowed
Fee
760 USD
Details and sources

Residence. Five years of continuous residence as a lawful permanent resident (green card holder), including at least 30 months (913 days) physically present in the U.S. and 3 months in the filing state or district.

Citizenship test. 2025 Naturalization Civics Test. Oral test given by a USCIS officer at the naturalization interview: 20 questions from a published list of 128, and 12 correct answers pass (the officer stops at 12 correct or 9 wrong). Applicants who filed before October 20, 2025 take the 2008 test (up to 10 of 100 questions, 6 to pass). Applicants aged 65+ with 20+ years as permanent residents get 10 questions from a 20-question bank and may test in a language of their choice.. Since/from: 2025-10-20

Language. Tested at the interview: the officer assesses speaking, and the applicant must read aloud 1 of 3 sentences correctly and write 1 of 3 sentences correctly.

Dual citizenship. U.S. law does not explicitly address or prohibit dual nationality; the State Department recognizes it but does not encourage it. The naturalization oath renounces allegiance to other states, but whether the other country still treats you as its citizen depends on that country's law.

Fee. Form N-400: USD 760 on paper, USD 710 if filed online; reduced fee USD 380 for eligible applicants, and fee waivers are possible (paper filing only). Fee schedule G-1055, edition 10/16/26.

Decided by. U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS), Department of Homeland Security

Checked 25 October 2026.

How we compare

Each figure comes from the country's law or the authority that handles citizenship, quoted and checked on the date shown. We list the main route for an adult. Rules change often, so always check with the authority before you apply.

We build courses for the citizenship test in Sweden and Finland. See our courses.